GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player

Reger, Max
 Listen To Music
 List/Buy Works

Reger, (Johann Baptist Joseph) Max(imilian)

(Born; Brand, Upper Palatinate, 19 March 1873; Died; Leipzig, 11 May 1916). German composer. He studied with Riemann (1890-95) in Munich and Wiesbaden (where his drinking habits began); in 1901 he settled in Munich, and in 1907 he moved to Leipzig to take a post as professor of composition at the university, though he was also active internationally as a conductor and pianist. He was appointed conductor of the court orchestra at Meiningen in 1911 and in 1915 moved to Jena.

During a composing life of little more than 20 years, he produced a large output in all genres, nearly always in abstract forms. He was a firm supporter of 'absolute' music and saw himself in a tradition going back to Bach, through Beethoven, Schumann and Brahms; his organ music, though also affected by Liszt, was provoked by that tradition. Of his orchestral pieces, his symphonic and richly elaborate Hiller Variations and Mozart Variations are justly remembered; of his chamber music the lighter-textured trios have retained a place in the repertory, along with some of the works for solo string instruments. His late piano and two-piano music places him as a successor to Brahms in the central German tradition. He pursued intensively, and to its limits, Brahms's continuous development and free modulation, often also invoking, like Brahms, the aid of Bachian counterpoint. Many of his works are in variation and fugue forms; equally characteristic is a great energy and complexity of thematic growth.

Orchestral music Sinfonietta, A (1905): Serenade G (1906) Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Hiller (1907); Vn Conc. A (1908); Sym. Prologue to a Tragedy, a (1908); Pf Conc., f (1910); Overture to a Comedy (1911); Romantic suite (1912); 4 Portraits after Arnold Böcklin (1913); Ballet suite, D (1913); Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Mozart (1914)

Choral music Psalm c (1909), Die Nonnen (1909); 8 geistliche Gesänge (1914); Requiem, inc. (1914); 2 Gesänge (Der Einsiedler; Requiem) 1915; male- and mixed-voice choruses, sacred works

Chamber music 9 sonatas, vn, pf (1890, 1891, 1899, 1903, 1905, 1909, 1911, 1915); 4 sonatas, vc, pf (1892, 1898, 1904, 1910); 2 pf qnts (1898, 1902); 11 sonatas, vn (1900, 1905); 2 sonatas, cl, pf (1900); 5 str qts (1900, 1904, 1909, 1911); Serenade, fl, vn, va (1904); 2 str trios (1904, 1915); Pf Trio (1908); Suite vn, pf (1908); Sonata, cl/va, pf (1909); 2 pf qts (1910, 1914); str sextet (1910); Preludes and Fugues, vn (1912, 1914); 3 Duos im alten Stil, 2 vn (1914); 3 suites, vc (1915); 3 suites, va (1915); Serenade, fl/vn, vn, va (1915); Cl Qnt (1915);12 Kleine Stücke eigenen Liedern, vn, pf (1916)

Solo vocal music An die Hoffnung, A/Mez, orch/pf (1912); Hymnus der Liebe, Bar/A orch (1914); over 250 lieder

Piano music Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Bach (1904); Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Beethoven, 2 pf (1904); 4 sonatinas (1905, 1908); 6 pieces, pf duet (1906); Introduction, Passacaglia and Fugue, 2 pf (1906); 6 preludes and fugues (1907); Episoden (1910); Aus meinem Tagebuch (1912); Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Telemann (1914); Träume am Kamin, 12 pieces (1915)

Organ music 7 chorale fantasias (1898-1900); 4 fantasias and fugues (1 on B-A-C-H) (1898-1916); 2 sonatas (1899, 1901); 6 trios (1900); 62 pieces (1901-16); 95 chorale preludes (1902-14); Variations and Fugue on an Original Theme (1903); 9 preludes and fugues (1904); Introduction, Passacaglia and Fugue (1913)

(c)Groves Dictionaries, MacMillan Publishers Limited, UK

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate · Contact Us · Advertising · Links
Home · Register · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · Information Center · Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Mon, Sep 21, 2020 9:23:47 PM US EST
back to top
0.046875 Seconds
v4.0b - - True