GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player

Four Studies


Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

Four Studies for Orchestra

Dance - Eccentric - Canticle - Madrid

Looking for a new direction to take after The Rite of Spring, Stravinsky composed three short experimental pieces in the summer of 1914, scoring them for string quartet. He orchestrated these in 1917 and published the orchestral versions in 1929, adding as a fourth piece a new orchestration of a 1917 pianola study. Each study reflects a different aspect of the composer’s creative personality.

The first study is a brief, stylised Russian dance for woodwind instruments, which continually repeat permutations of the same four notes in different rhythmic groupings over a drone accompaniment. A descending phrase is injected as a refrain at irregular intervals.

The second piece was inspired by the famous English clown, Little Tich, whom Stravinsky saw in London in 1914. Deeply impressed by his eccentric movements, the composer made a musical portrait from disjointed melodic fragments in humorously jerky motion.

Canticle, which Stravinsky said could equally have been entitled Hymn, is so called because it evokes religious choral music. Moving by narrow melodic steps, it suggests the ritual chant of Russian monks and is finally concentrated harmonically to a cool, remote stillness.

The pianola study on which Madrid is based was composed shortly after Stravinsky’s visit to that city. Spanish elements are easily spotted, but the melodic contours and rhythms are refracted through the prism of Stravinsky’s re-creative mind.

© Eric Mason

 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate · Contact Us · Advertising · Links
Home · Register · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · Information Center · Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Sun, Jul 5, 2020 10:13:59 AM US EST
back to top
5.078125E-02 Seconds
v4.0b - - True