GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player

Suite in D major

Marais: Suite in D major

This suite of six pieces in D major for three bass viols and harpsichord continuo by Marais was published in his fourth book of viol pieces in 1717. Marais seems to have been very proud of this work, which he advertised as being the first written for three bass viols in France, and one can see that he lavished a great deal of care in crafting each movement. The artistic quality of this work may surprise you, from the sumptuous Prelude and fugal Legèrement and a voluptuous Sarabande to a remarkably witty closing Rondeau marked not only by its charming refrain but also by the appearance of pots and pans that characterise the French charivari, in which the love-making of newlyweds is raucously disrupted by the din of revellers demonstrating outside the bridal chamber.

 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate · Contact Us · Advertising · Links
Home · Register · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · Information Center · Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Wed, Jul 15, 2020 11:50:22 PM US EST
back to top
4.101563E-02 Seconds
v4.0b - - True