GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player


Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

Movements (1958-59)

1. Movement 1 (Eighth note = 110)
2. Movement 2 (Quarter note = 52)
3. Movement 3 (Eighth note = 72)
4. Movement 4 (Eighth note = 80)
5. Movement 5 (Eighth note = 104)

Composed for piano and orchestra, Movements is a short, concise exploration in the serial style, a style that frequently appeared in Stravinsky’s compositions dating from the mid to late 1950s. He wrote the work for the Swiss pianist, Margrit Weber, who also played at its premiere during the Stravinsky Festival in New York, 10 January 1960, with Stravinsky conducting.

Each of the five movements are separated by short instrumental sections, a kind of ‘interlude’ between the movements. These passages have a dual purpose, as they serve as both codas to the movements they follow, and introductions to those they precede, Stravinsky using these few bars to introduce the tempo of the next movement. In addition to the contrasting tempos, the movements are further delineated by instrumentation, a different combination being used in each section.

 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate · Contact Us · Advertising · Links
Home · Register · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · Information Center · Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Tue, Jul 7, 2020 3:19:13 AM US EST
back to top
2.148438E-02 Seconds
v4.0b - - True