GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player

Suite No.1 for jazz band

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Suite No.1 for jazz band (1934)

1. Waltz
2. Polka
3. Foxtrot (Blues)

Shostakovich’s music is frequently described as ironic and satirical, but with an underlying sense of darkness and foreboding, and the Suite No.1 for jazz band is no exception. Combining aspects of opera, cabaret and Jewish music – of which Shostakovich was very fond – he composed the Suite in three contrasting movements. The work opens with a light, lilting waltz, and is quickly followed by a cheeky polka, the themes of both these movements being very popular with audiences at that time. As a result, he also used these melodies in some of his later ballet scores. The Foxtrot, which is subtitled Blues, but in the character of neither, has moments that are both comical and menacing, and is written in a style more akin to much of his later symphonic writing.

 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate · Contact Us · Advertising · Links
Home · Register · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · Information Center · Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Sun, Jan 26, 2020 4:35:19 PM US EST
back to top
0.0703125 Seconds
v4.0b - - True