GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player

Piano Concerto No.4 in B Flat Major Op.53

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 4 in B flat, Op. 53

The Fourth Piano Concerto sandwiches a lyrical Andante and an expressively varied movement in a range of moderately fast tempos between a dashing pair of Vivace movements (the second a condensed reprise of the first) that outdo even the brilliance of the First Concerto’s outer sections. Prokofiev emphasises from the start that one-handedness is not going to confine his soloist to any single register. What might be called the ‘Grand Old Duke of York’ style that Prokofiev favoured in his concertos – marching the piano up to the top of the keyboard and marching it down again – makes that point with the particular aptness in the skittering piano part, which is laid out largely in a single unsupported melodic line.


 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate Contact Us Advertising Links
Home Register Terms of Use Privacy Policy Information Center Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Thu, Jul 9, 2020 11:13:12 PM US EST
back to top
4.980469E-02 Seconds
v4.0b - - True