GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player

Brandenburg Concerto No.2 in F Major BWV1047

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Brandenburg Concerto No.2 in F Major BWV 1047

1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Allegro assai

Concerto No.2, which dates from 1719, is scored for a concertino group of four solo instruments - violin , flute, oboe and trumpet - a ripieno of strings and a continuo of cello and harpsichord. The principal concertino theme of the 4/4 opening movement is allotted first to the violin, then in succession to the oboe, the flute and lastly the trumpet, which is obliged to produce its highest notes and best agility and consequently contributes most to the splendid sparkle of the music.

The central Andante by contrast offers the gentle interplay of violin, flute and oboe in a tranquil set of variations in 3/4 time, the trio accompanied by only cello and harpsichord.

In the 2/4 finale it is the high trumpet again that leads the revels, this time being the first to play the soloists' theme and sounding even more brilliant than before as the music follows a lively course through ingenious canonic intricacies.

Eric Mason

 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate Contact Us Advertising Links
Home Register Terms of Use Privacy Policy Information Center Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Sat, Jul 4, 2020 2:09:08 PM US EST
back to top
0.0703125 Seconds
v4.0b - - True