GMN - Your Arts Network
GMN - Your Arts Network ClassicalPlus
Home Artists Composers Webcasts Downloads News Shop Contests Forums


 GMN Premium
 Classical Radio
 Classical Forum
FREE Newsletter

The GMN Shop
The MediaPlayer
Content Archive
Free Music
Grove Dictionary
All Searches

Email This Page Email This Page

 New User Sign Up
 Sign In
 Select a Player

Piano Sonata No.9 in C Major Op. 103

Sergei Prokofiev (1891 - 1953)

Piano Sonata No.9 in C Major Op. 103

The Ninth Sonata (completed in 1947 and dedicated to Richter) shows Prokofiev at his most whimsical, very much in his winter-story-telling mood. The opening Allegretto experiments half-heartedly with various ideas, and is haunted by memories of the Eighth Sonata’s first movement inquieto and the central Andante’s faux-naieve melody. 2 parodies a child’s five-finger exercises, and interrupts its pensive charm (a waltz rhythm perversely extended into four beats) with an episode straight out of French vaudville; almost as if Poulenc had stepped into the arena with all his Parisian blague and bustle. 4 contrasts an edgy gaiety with passages of a strangely attenuated beauty, and the end is as frail and ghostly as anything in Prokofiev.

© Bryce Morrison

 Featured Item

Read more

gmnyour arts network 
 GMN ClassicalPlus 
 GMN JazzPlus 
Become an Affiliate · Contact Us · Advertising · Links
Home · Register · Terms of Use · Privacy Policy · Information Center · Help

Copyright © 1999 - 2001 Global Music Network Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Music downloads, audio and video provided for personal, non-commercial use only and may not be re-distributed.

Wed, Jul 15, 2020 11:01:33 PM US EST
back to top
5.078125E-02 Seconds
v4.0b - - True